2012 award winners

Judging and Prizes

Four of the top five videos will be selected by media specialists and senior medical students at the University of South Carolina based on originality, production value, content and talent. The University of South Carolina is not eligible to compete for the Memmys award.

The fifth top video will be selected based on popular voting on YouTube, with the greatest number of “likes.” All schools are expected to follow the high ethical standards of our profession in this competition and limit votes to one per person.

From the top five videos, the celebrity panel will select the first place, second place and third place winners. Celebrity panelists for the 2014 competition included:

Description: http://www.kwamedawes.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/KwameDawes_by_ElizaGriffiths_150x150.original1.jpg

Kwame Dawes, Ghanaian-born Jamaican poet Kwame Dawes is the award-winning author of 16 books of poetry (most recently, Wheels, 2011) and numerous books of fiction, non-fiction, criticism and drama. He won an Emmy Award in 2009. He is the Glenna Luschei Editor of Prairie Schooner, and a Chancellor’s Professor of English at the University of Nebraska. Dawes also teaches in the Pacific MFA Writing program.  Dawes’ book, Duppy Conqueror: New and Selected Poems was published by Copper Canyon in 2013.

Description: C:\Users\msplett\Desktop\Memmys website updates 12-12-12\bierbauer.jpg

Charles Bierbauer, Emmy-award winning journalist who spent 20 years as a correspondent in Washington for CNN. Currently serves as dean of the University of South Carolina College of Mass Communications and Information Studies.

Description: http://kelseychow.com/Biography_files/kelsey%20new%205%2009.jpg

Kelsey Chow, actress on popular television shows “One Tree Hill” and “Pair of Kings”


The winners will receive a monetary award given to their school’s health sciences library.

  • 1st place: $1,500
  • 2nd place: $1,000
  • 3rd place: $500